So, I wonder how many ‘parts’ there are going to be to ‘This Treasure’ Series.  I think that I need to give myself some sort of guideline or something.  You know I don’t wanna be all willie-nillie about this.

Rabbit trail:  Since being on this sabbatical,
I have NO concept
of time!  It is so bizarre!
Usually, I'm THE Time-Nazi.
But now, I am the definition of willie-nillie.

So, in an effort to keep myself on some sort of non-sabbatical schedule–I need some guidelines.

I’ve already covered Disappointments — which was very important for me to flesh out and find some peace with God in.  Now, don’t misunderstand me.  By no means am I saying that I’ve got everything worked out, nicely polished and put away in my “Ahh, glad that’s over” pocket.  I’m just saying that it’s in my “Work in Progress” pocket.   The other things that I am working through are those statements —  and I’m going to take them one at a time.

Side Note:  Yep, I'm going deeper.  Nope, I'm not a sad little lady.
I'm very happy actually. I like knowing that the Invisible Man
loves me so much that He wants to make me soar like a Red Balloon
and bloom like an orange Daisy.  However, to do those things...
He must do these things.  :)

*I find peace in slowness…

I didn’t read any quotes on slowness or peace from anybody ‘special’ or world renown.  I went straight to my favorite Book.  First I looked up the word slow.  What I found was quite overwhelming.

  • …I am slow of speech…
  • …He is slow to anger….
  • ‘The LORD is slow to anger…
  • …He will not be slow to repay to their face those who hate him.
  • If you make a vow to the LORD your God, do not be slow to pay it…
  • God, gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and abounding in love…
  • But you, O LORD, are a compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness.
  • The LORD is compassionate and gracious, slow to anger, abounding in love.
  • The LORD is gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and rich in love.
  • Return to the LORD your God, for he is gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and abounding in love, and he relents from sending calamity.
  • I knew that you are a gracious and compassionate God, slow to anger and abounding in love,
  • The LORD is slow to anger and great in power;
  • We made slow headway for many days and had difficulty arriving……..
  • We have much to say about this, but it is hard to explain because you are slow to learn.
  • Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry,
  • The LORD is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. He is patient with you,

Okay, I’m no Bible scholar but I think that we can all agree that if you take all of these verses that the Bible talks about ‘slow(ness)’  — slow(ness) would = God’s long walk to anger.  I’m just telling ya…I Don’t Do That.  So, if God tells me this statement:

I find peace in slowness.  Umm, Hello Hard Head!! (that’s me)!!  I can find the antithesis — I find distress in anger.

He is patient and kind and loving and good to me.  I want to rest there.  Not in what I feel like I’ve lost, deserve, need, require, been hurt by.  Because I get angry in this place.  Oh, and this list could go on..and it could be different for whoever reads this.  Everyone has a list.  I’m just sayin’. What is so strange to me is that for over a year I’ve unwittingly been saying it…actually signing it.  “~Peace”.  I didn’t understand until now.

Slowness.  I’m to work toward being slow to anger and there I will find peace.  Just like the Invisible Man is slow toward me.

I find peace in slowness.  Another Life Lesson.  My Life Lesson Pocket is
getting kinda full.  I think I might need a bigger pocket.
(just pocket...not pants) ;)

i hope this makes good sense…if not…be slow toward me 😉

Addendum- July 5, 2010

I am re-reading this series and noticed where I said:  “I didn’t read any quotes from anybody ‘special’ or world renown….”.  Then I go on to quote the God of the Universe??  HELLO– DING-BAT!!  I think He qualifies for both of those categories.  🙂